Dear Respiratory Therapist

9 Jan
rt.jpg
I was feeling down in the dumps about my job–how inadequate I feel at my job–the things I miss-the stuff I forget–how late I am at work every night trying to document all the things I did for my patients all day–How I wish I had more time with my patients making them feel better instead of worrying about how the “powers that be” at the hospital that is the administration are trying to move beds around–move patients around–etc…All this worrying and feeling alone about it–you know what I mean: try and express this feeling to other nurses and the aura or air about them is that they have time to do their job, spend time with patients and feel all good about their last 12 hours: this must be some sort of sick RN defense mechanism because I certainly on most days feel like poopGreen poop from popping iron pills is how I feel on alot of days.I am not going to hide that truth from myself and I screw up, mess up, and forget things alot!
So in the midst of this self pitying, pity party over myself and my job performance and the lingering dwelling sad weight of all the patients that circled the drain ever in my now 6 months off of orientation memory: I read something that really made me laugh out loud.
I laughed all by myself out loud and thought, “if someone could see me they would think that I have lost my marbles!”
I just want to thank the RT responsible for this laughter because I actually felt some sort of weird chemicals being released into my brain that made me feel some sort of weird goodness or happiness.
Please for laughter check out these Top Secret Respiratory cures at the link provided. To get to the top secret treatments you must scroll down to the bottom of the page.

3 Responses to “Dear Respiratory Therapist”

  1. Rick January 11, 2008 at 02:23 #

    We at the RT Cave had a blast making this list, and we’re very thrilled our unique RT humor provided laughter for you.

  2. Kat February 3, 2008 at 14:46 #

    Thank you for your blog–please know you are not alone my sweet. Its no wonder to me now that so many new nurses quit within their first year. I have been a nurse for almost 6 months. I love nursing–but going twelve hourse with no break for fear of falling abysmally behind and then driving home feeling like “geen poop” because of the impossibility of giving good, wholistic care AND crossing all t’s and dotting all i’s is enough to make anyone lose marbles…and perhaps hope and faith in the profession. I often drive to work in sheer terror of the shift to come and home in a panic trying to figure out how I could pay school loans doing something else. Mostly, I try to keep that chin up and just remember–we are human, we are new at this, and we are still learning. I’ll be rooting for you–your fellow new nurse…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. i love you respiratory therapy department « See Jane Nurse - October 25, 2009

    […] RT made me laugh so hard when I was feeling like green poop from the job. I mean I came home feeling all crappy and […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

