Ripped Panty Hose

8 Jan

I have holes in my hose: a small secret.

I wear control type panty hose under my scrub pants and run to the bathroom and secretly rip little holes in them while sitting on the toilet that I don’t have to pee into.

Nurses are so controlling.  It is a constant swing of taking command and giving it up at the same time.  It really is bizarre.

Writing little numbers perfectly in small boxes.

Complete control over another human being in a vulnerable state, while attempting to remember to give that person some control over themselves to restore their own sanity: ‘No, I can not remove the intravenous catheter that is infusing hemodynamic cardiovascular chemicals into your blood stream, or remove this blood pressure cuff but would you like your telephone here or there?’

When I go home, I try to put the spoons in the right spot to get the same feeling, but it never really feels quite the same.

3 Responses to “Ripped Panty Hose”

  1. Geoff January 28, 2011 at 03:15 #

    “And again: I wear control type panty hose under my scrub pants and run to the bathroom…” I’m glad you said that twice because I had to read it four times to believe you actually wrote it! Classic.

  2. dr.antony June 7, 2011 at 03:02 #

    I couldn’t stop laughing.But then,I started thinking as well.I have often thought about the life
    of nurses and occasionally,written about it.After years of systematic entries and re entries,life gets tuned to it.I wonder how your working environment is,and would like to know.
    You could become a writer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

