Consciousness

8 Jul

Where does consciousness live? In the Reticular Activating System!

The RAS runs from the lower brain stem to the mesencephalon and thalamus– to the cerebral cortex, it is a path between our lower brain and our upper brain.

It brings together a response to the outside world. It filters out stimulus that we do not need, and we focus on what we do need to pay attention to.

If someone tells me something I do not want to know about, I will say—I am sorry my RAS filtered that information out as unnecessary to my knowledge bank, please try again later.

I slept now I am awake! I am aroused and paying attention, thanks to my RAS.

One Response to “Consciousness”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best In Nurse Blogs: Dean Needs Tablet Computer Help Edition! | The Millionaire Nurse Blog - July 10, 2011

    […] “Consciousness” is explained at See Jane Nurse.  If you don’t know your reticular activating system from your limbic system, maybe you should go check it out. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

