The day from…WhyLand

26 Sep

tears1.jpg

And she cried and cried.

It was one of those crazy days.

My friend had a rough, tearful day. 2 blood transfusions on 2 different patients, at the same time. ( The charge nurse had to take over one)–4 out 6 patients confused.  Family members administering strange mixtures of green herbal drinks at the bedside enhancing anti-coagulation therapy no doubt, loved ones chasing the nurse down the hallway with half advance directive forms half filled out. Low mag levels, all kinds of craziness.  Pages and pages of now orders. Patients leaving for tests coming back from tests. Patients tachycardic, atrial fibrillation etc…more and more drugs… Left my friend with some tears and the questions, “Why am I doing this to myself?” She really felt herself getting sick which I can explain in further detail at another time about those stress chemicals that you can just feel being released sometimes.

Seriously though, I am upset too and secretly feel guilty because my group was ok. I do not want my friend to be upset! The turn over rate where I work seems to be high from what I see so far and I do not want her to leave! I am clinging on to my resources here! Holding on tightly!

At the end of the day my friend tells the charge nurse she is upset. After a brief discussion I interrupt and ask, “Is is this crazy everywhere?” My charge nurse says yes that in all her experience Telemetry floors are crazy and busy. I mean honestly I really want to know!

Now do not misunderstand me. I like telemetry. I just want to know if sometimes it is not progressive care unit (what does that mean?) Or progressively dangerous unit?

4 Responses to “The day from…WhyLand”

  1. Wanderer September 26, 2007 at 05:13 #

    Yes, it is that crazy. Some are worse than others though. Sounds like you have a doozy! And 6 patients? Sounds like a total nightmare to me…and incredibly unsafe. It’s hard enough with 5, at night. But there are those times when it just feels right y’know?
    Keep your head up!
    Peace and love…

  2. seejanenurse September 26, 2007 at 14:42 #

    Thanks for the support!

  3. birdyrn September 26, 2007 at 22:46 #

    Sounds just like my unit! I’m coming off a run of 4 incredibly heavy shifts in 5 nights, and I am totally beat. I’m not sure how I’m going to learn to cope with this as a long term lifestyle, but today it’s a beautiful Indian summer day and I’m going to barbeque with my friends. Wanna join us? 🙂

  4. seejanenurse September 27, 2007 at 16:08 #

    😦 That is rough I am sure. I have only ever done 3 days in a row, and was mentally and physically exhausted. Well…have a beautiful Indian summer day!

Leave a Reply

