Zombie Nurse

17 Dec

The Zombie Nurse. She attacked me the other night at the end of my shift. Attacked me with, “Why did you pick me?” and “This group is to much work” and “I am going to be running all night”, and “This patient should be in ICU, (before even assessing the patient)”. Generally making me feel like a stupid jerk for not knowing that complaining was an option. I mean I just go to work and do my job the best that I can. I give it my A gameall day long and to have these Zombie nurses come in complaining and whining for the next thirty minutes when all you are trying to do is pass on the “essential” information is getting annoying.  I am done with verbalizing the whole chart to the next nurse in report, it should just be the “pertinent” information.  I am also tired of getting report from Zombie nurses, the ones who “couldn’t do this or couldn’t do that,” or who talk sooooo slooooow….while they are “yawning”  in your face trying to stay awake.  That just makes me want to run out of report and make sure that the patients are all alive since this Zombie is half asleep already.  It is funny how they complain so much about the work they have to do and yet somehow they find all this time to have their “night shift” parties. They have time to decorate for the holidays and have parties for each other during birthdays or weddings and such. I mean I and other day time nurses barely have time to eat lunch, drink some water or even “pee” if we want to: Assess our patients, continuously intervene, keep up with all the new orders and “now” orders to be done, make sure our patients get to testing and procedures, assess safety after procedures, worry about if the patients got breakfast lunch and dinner plus making sure that they do not get breakfast lunch or dinner if they are “NPO”, explain what the doctor just said, (the one who just left the room while the patient understood zero of what was just said.)  The family members! The night shift nurses tells them “visiting hours are over.” The family members stay with us all day long. (I do not usually mind)  I had this one nurse “freak” and seemingly get her panties in bunches because I left her patient in the chair. The patient was not ready to get back in bed. The patient was a two person “stand by” assist to get back into the bed. The nurse “freaked”. Lo and Behold!! a patient out of bed is unheard of to this particular RN. If I have a patient “in” bed all day I am unhappy! Needless to stay, I stayed over to help the patient back in bed since the nurse taking over seemed to be unable to fathom it.

Honestly we should all work together as a team to have optimal patient outcomes, and I do try. When I get fed up or irritated and start “complaining” I usually feel guilty afterwards.  I understand that it is not easy to work night shift, it is hard on the body and the mind. I think that studies show that the survival rate of code blues during nights and weekends are poorer than  those who arrest during day time hours-the article is here.  I am not “belittling” the night shift nurse, but I feel that the day time nurse is doing a lot more work and the night shift nurse is doing a lot of complaining to me lately.
I think we should have to swing shifts from time to time! A nice walk in my shoes shift.  I just want to be stop being attacked by Zombies as if they “hated” there job and are taking it out on me! “How could you manage doing this all day?” My response is I love my job, my patients need this, and I am into managing chaos! That is why I keep trying to do it better and better every week!

One Response to “Zombie Nurse”

  1. Michelle Leonard December 19, 2008 at 01:06 #

    I completely understand your pain. I too am a day shift nurse who gives 110% doing all the things you mentioned. The night nurses on my floor dont know what the doctors or case managers look like because they never see them or have to deal with them. Do they know how to fill out ALL the required paperwork to transfer a patient via ambulance to a SNF or rehab? NO! Why? Because they never have to do it. I work on a mostly surgical/medical floor and wonder how our night nurses would deal with PT/OT constantly breathing down their necks asking “When did this patient have his pain med last?” We should definitely switch shoes and shifts to see what it is like. We may stop complaining when we see what they do…..I doubt it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

