The emotional bank account

18 Apr

Does nursing self serve my needs as a person? I would not find that appropriate. We are here serving others. I get treated like poop a lot of the time, by patients who are to sick to play nice, and I understand. Or abused by family members losing all emotional control compensating by micro managing my time and demanding the impossible. For some reason unexplainable by me, half of my group the last two shifts have been showering me with all these great compliments! I have one tell me that my actions are so “fluid” and my face is “interesting and animated” … What a poet! Another gave me the speech that, I care for her wound with “gentleness”. Another how “special” I am. They all seemed so sincere and happy to see me this morning. Even a patient that is not my patient, remembered me from six months ago when I cared for her then, and she came out to the desk to chat with me, telling me all about her experiences.
I mean to express the wonder of how cool is that?
All of this drives me to work and labor for all the shifts wallowing in basic shit and mistreatment. Just for the days and patients like today.
This is a huge deposit in the emotional bank account labeled work.
Now, if I can just figure out how to get such equity into the personal emotional bank account… I’d be just super fine.

4 Responses to “The emotional bank account”

  1. Sean April 19, 2009 at 20:10 #

    One of those deposits is worth the million withdrawals of bad experiences.
    It’s how we survive.
    You are not alone.

    • seejanenurse April 20, 2009 at 00:21 #

      Sean. Thanks so much. It can be a lonely place, and I feel less alone here.

  2. DAP April 20, 2009 at 14:21 #

    As a heart transplant recipient I have spent a lot of time in the hospital. I also volunteer at my transplant center each week and see pre & post transplant patients while they are “in-house”.

    All I can say is that nurses ROCK!!!! My favorite saying is, they are the best of the best …. taking care of the worst of the worst.

    THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING YOU DO!!!!!!

    • seejanenurse April 20, 2009 at 15:24 #

      Thank you so much second heart beat. I love your blog. I read the whole thing months ago. I think you my dear is the one who totally rocks! seriously.

Leave a Reply

