sucky co-workers

25 Apr

Woow. I am still shocked. I have had this scene time and again with the same co-worker. The one who is always busier than you. One time I needed to hang blood that requires 2 RN signatures to check the right blood, right patient etc…as per policy for safety. I actually had the blood in my hand ready to go and as she was the first RN in sight I asked her to come with me. She said no!    wtf? Are you kidding me? Today I wanted to go to lunch and asked her to cover me, all my patients were stable. She said no! wtf? Her excuse was that she was doing an admission….yeah. whatever!

And she is the first hot mess always asking everyone for help all-day-long.

I have yet to come up with a name for this type of rare sucky co-worker.

but I will.

Yeah. She is a true gem. *vomiting in my shoes*

3 Responses to “sucky co-workers”

  1. David in Houston May 7, 2009 at 01:44 #

    What goes around comes around. If she’s not a team player she doesn’t get team support, although if you tell her no she’ll be the first to complain about it. So next time she asks for help ask her “So the next time I need a hand you’ll help me?” Insist that she agrees. If she stiffs you again let her know when she tries to ask you again that she can no longer look to you for any help. She’ll back down if you call her on it. Or try the alternate “Why should help you if you won’t help me?”

    Her behavior won’t change until she’s called on it.

    • seejanenurse May 12, 2009 at 15:34 #

      yeah. Well I was so ticked that last shift she needed help pulling up a patient that was like at the bottom of the bed. I had my hands full and just kept on walking (normally I would put everything down and help of course) , I was nice enough to ask someone else to go help her, but I just can not be in the same room with her at this point. She already knows about her behaviour, I called her on it before. She apologizes and say I know I am sorry blah blah blah.

  2. Me October 16, 2009 at 17:47 #

    I feel your pain. I worked in once facility that consistent refusal of help could be grounds for dismissal, if written up enough times. Enough complaints lodged, a person would be written up. I liked that policy–it reduced the amounts of injuries and improved the quality of patient care. Now, I work on a unit with a bunch of newer grads with heavy care patients–where the nurses think helping is an optional thing. I’m very courteous about asking–but if the refusal is unjustifiable I’ve got to be forceful about obtaining it and it’s awful. Seriously, looking on the internet to plan one’s wedding certainly does not take precedence over someone who is almost ready to fall out of bed.

Leave a Reply

