I miss my heart doctor

12 May

Ahhh…..I felt a twinge of chest pain rated about 5 out of 10 on a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the worst pain ever. It did not radiate anywhere, just a big rectangle sitting on my chest, and a pit at the bottom of my stomach leading to a self diagnosis of stable anxiety, relieved by pleasant memories and one big *sigh*,  all at the end of my last shift as I watched my favorite cardiologist walk off the floor for the very last time into…..retirement.

I am not alone in this feeling.

We are all going to miss him.

He is a mix between a Zorro MD and Indiana Jones with his leather vest and cowboy hat and jeans.

He has energy unlike others and passion unmatched by any other cardiologist I have worked with yet.

It is hard to imagine him in retirement but hey: that is is his business.

What I take away from him in my 2 years as a new nurse is priceless. His teaching was endless and never seemed to be tiresome. I will remember him at the monitor surrounded by all the nurses explaining something heart related in a language that we could all understand.

3 Responses to “I miss my heart doctor”

  1. Gemma May 13, 2009 at 13:13 #

    Wow… I’ve yet to meet such a nice doctor yet.

    Anyway, I look at your blog every other day. It’s really inspiring =)

    • seejanenurse May 17, 2009 at 02:22 #

      Awww. Thanx Gemma for visiting me every other day!
      Oh. Tell me your stories! There are a few Zorro MDs out there, and there are some not-so-nice- Dirty Coat MDs out there.
      Hang in there!

  2. Gemma May 19, 2009 at 16:31 #

    I’m still a student trying to learn as much as I can. I do agree that some doctors are nice, but others can be quite nasty towards nurses =(

    Looking forward to your future entries =)

Leave a Reply

