Telepathic Doctor

25 May

So the patient is admitted and is diabetic: on insulin at home with unknown dosages.

The admitting doctor puts the patient on a regular diet and does not order any insulin because the patient does not know the dosages.

The next day the patients blood sugar is >400.

So nurse Jane calls the doctor and says: your patient is on insulin at home, do you at least want to order a sliding scale for insulin coverage?

Dr Dirty Coat: No. 

Jane: The patient is on insulin at home.

Dr Dirty Coat: I do not know the dosage. You want me to be telepathic?

Jane: (ewww) No. I do not want you to be telepathic. I do want: You to know that your patient is diabetic, put them on a diabetic diet and even if you do not know what the patient takes at home, I expect you to cover the high glucose while in the hospital.  So…. the blood sugar now is > 400, do you want to leave it like that or do you want to give the patient some insulin?

6 Responses to “Telepathic Doctor”

  1. Gemma May 26, 2009 at 14:13 #

    *applause*

    I doubt I’ll have that courage to reply to the doctor in that manner. I would probably just swallow back my words. I’m going to start learning.

    PS: Did I mention that you’re really inspiring? =)

    • seejanenurse May 26, 2009 at 14:48 #

      Gemma:
      *curtsies*
      The goal is to get what you need for your patients. I asked for a sliding scale: He said no. I had to continue the conversation for the patient before he hung up on me.

      Thanx for thinking I am inspiring! I will carry on! 😉

  2. Michelle May 26, 2009 at 15:24 #

    Dear Jane,
    I was thinking that that would never go down without me being incriminated by whoever I was speaking to in my country. I am sad. I can never be myself at work, always live for them, who don’t give a damn about me, and colleagues are so sensitive you have to on your toes even with them. Feel like what I do imprisons me. How might I deal with that?

    • seejanenurse May 26, 2009 at 17:13 #

      Where are you? email me: seejanenurse@hotmail.com

      I think that when it gets tough with colleagues: be they doctors, other nurses, or ancillary staff just remember: your job is for your patients, you work for them so don’t worry about the rest.

      Hang in there.

  3. Sean June 8, 2009 at 00:39 #

    Gee.. he didn’t diagnose the COPD either. Is he gonna treat that?
    Maybe if we ignore it.. it will go away.
    (Grr)

    • seejanenurse June 8, 2009 at 01:41 #

      I feel you: I know exactly what you are talking about. I feel like I am just putting out fires all day long.

Leave a Reply

