Time to check out

1 Jun

I am trying to give report to the night nurse, in the nurses station the scene is 16 nurses talking at once, 2 unit secretaries, a monitor tech, and about 5 nurses aides all standing around in an area  the size of a large living room. There must be at least 7 call bells alarming, some patient bed alarms chirping, and the noise factor is going to make my head explode.

I turn around and right in the middle of the hallway is one of my confused patients  holding up his arm with blood all over the floor, all over the hospital gown from the IV that he just ripped out,  and the patient standing there perplexed says: “When is check out time?”

aHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. Why is that when it is time for me to go home, everything gets all crazy.

 PCU (progressive care unit) turns into PCU (psychotic care unit).  

Like seriously: Dear patient, I am checking out right now, you could of ripped out that IV an hour ago.

When I am taking report and something awful is happening, be it  a patient rapidly decompensating or general patient nuttiness: I just take over. That is what I do. Take over. That is what we should all do. Nursing is a 24 hour business and after 12.5 hours of intervening it is time to go home. Why do I have to be guilt-ed into staying late?  When I am on the receiving end of madness: I take it, and do my job. If I wanted clean stability I would go work in a doctors office. duh.

Time for me to check out.

2 Responses to “Time to check out”

  1. Sean June 10, 2009 at 21:15 #

    I always love describing this to the non-nurses when it comes to working shift.
    I am SCHEDULED till 7pm, but… uuhm.. I rarely leave on time.

    • seejanenurse June 11, 2009 at 00:00 #

      Yeah, It is hard to explain/describe and that is one of the reasons why I find myself here on this blog~it is a way to relate with other people who understand! Even in personal relationships: you can not *explain* “How was your day?”

Leave a Reply

