PCCN

18 Jun

I am studying to take the PCCN exam in approximately 2 months! I did the pretest to see how I will stand up without studying first. I did great on the cardio but terrible on everything else!! Imagine that? The ABG analysis killed me! The endless questions about urine osmolarity perplexed me!! Mostly because the questions were not is this ,or is this not normal, but rather, “What is the expected intervention?”

Just when you think you are super duper cool nurse, you find out the impossibility of knowing it all.

I guess I will just have to take only patients who are: Acute MI, NSTEMI, CHF, A Fib,  Acute Pulmonary Edema, Pulmonary Embolism and Sepsis!!!!!             

Is that all I have learned so far?

Studying will commence immediately.

I feel so special.

Oh and if you do not know what the PCCN exam is click here on PCCN.

Oh and Nurse K has a sadly amusing post about admissions and bed shortage and telemetry beds: click here. And read about the shell game. It is true to the word. A few weeks ago I started the shift with 6 patients: Sent 2 to the medical floor, 2 to rehab, and 1 went home. Guess how many admissions? Ironically the 2 that went to rehab and the1 that went home were long gone before the medical floor would take report on the other 2 ! I am not sure how it is possible that every time I call to give report they are, in an isolation room, or having lunch!?! I can only imagine the wrath if I did not take report from the emergency dept on a patient immediately ! We just do not do that on my floor, the sooner I get the patient the better for me and the patient and the hospital.

4 Responses to “PCCN”

  1. LLogan June 21, 2009 at 11:16 #

    Good luck with the PCCN! I hope to take it before the end of the year.
    We’ll see….

    • seejanenurse June 22, 2009 at 03:35 #

      Thanks! I hope to take the test in about 2 months, after some serious study and review! Maybe I will post some practice questions soon!

  2. axilla January 2, 2011 at 19:09 #

    Which book did u use for pccn test?any free study material???

Leave a Reply

