End of Shift Guilt! Please Vote!

16 Aug

Oh it got cut off…it should say..”the night nurse informs you as you are leaving (really walking out the door with your bag in hand)”

I mean I never know what to do in these situations. And I always feel guilty!

5 Responses to “End of Shift Guilt! Please Vote!”

  1. Wanderer August 16, 2009 at 02:46 #

    24-7…it’s how we roll. No matter what, having a patient crash (or Code) at shift change just plain sucks. You sticking around won’t help (well, it may, but for argument’s sake), you feeling guilty won’t help either. Just my view. (Had far too many change of shift crashes.)

    • seejanenurse August 17, 2009 at 03:22 #

      You are right! I just need to hear it sometimes cause there is always the nurse on the other end of the shift sort of making you feel guilty even if that is not the intention: I mean who likes to walk into that? Ahhhhhhh. I guess I just need to be reminded (that it is ok, that it happens!)
      whew.

      I remember when my sister delivered her baby at the hospital…at shift change! The maternity nurses were so cool they gave report right in the room, the day shift nurse left and the baby was born like 3 minutes later. I thought: wow they do not play games: when shift is over it is over no matter what! It never happens like that on my unit! Report just drags on and on and on and on and on. ah.
      Thanx for support! :D

  2. gloria August 25, 2009 at 02:05 #

    if a code starts when I’m walking out, I will walk back in because unlike most of my co-workers I have seen them before and have ACLS. But I would probably leave once the team gets there. I can’t just stay around, for one thing our boss encourages us to leave on time. And I have a life.

  3. Karin October 10, 2009 at 23:37 #

    Leave. If necessary, I can have someone call the rapid response team if I am on a non-CU floor.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

