census senses

28 Aug

Well…it is that time of the year again. The census is low. I am not complaining: I mean less sick people should make us happy right?  Of course. I am not sure if there are less sick people or that people are on vacation and get sick elsewhere than where my happy hospital happens to be located! One day I just might have the strength and energy to do the research on why every summer the census of inpatients drops to an all time low. They say: that you can not get sick from cold weather, but why is that every winter our beds our filled and every summer half the beds are not filled?

Anyway: I hope my shift gets cancelled tomorrow! I could use the day for fun!

4 Responses to “census senses”

  1. my2ndheartbeat September 7, 2009 at 12:31 #

    I know where I volunteer the census is down as well. Right now I have only 2 or 3 folks waiting to be transplanted ~ in the past year I’ve had as many as 14. As I looked back through my own records, I only saw 3 patients a year ago ….. so maybe it’s a cyclical thing?

    • seejanenurse September 8, 2009 at 01:02 #

      Dear 2nd heartbeat:
      i need the link to your site, i know i read all of it before but i want to read it again!

      i think that it is possible to be cyclic in nature where i work: i am not sure about transplant patients.

      i know that the census is up again where i am and will likely remain that way for awhile. (unfortunate for the sick of course but keeps me with a job that i love)

  2. my2ndheartbeat September 8, 2009 at 01:24 #

    Hi Jane,

    I recently combined my web site and my blog into one FREE blog. (I had been paying Yahoo for my web address)

    New site ~ http://My2ndHeartBeat.Wordpress.com

    Be well, and keep doing what you’re doing …. it DOES make a difference in the lives of many!!!

    • seejanenurse September 8, 2009 at 02:49 #

      Thanks! I am going to check it out now and added to my side bar!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

