Burned out neurons

13 Sep

I feel sick.

I always rant and rave about how much I love telemetry nursing and usually I do, but right now after these last few shifts I am on the cusp of burning out.

I do not keep active in the health care debate, but I do know this:

Where I work: everyone is admitted for every small and minor complaint. Everyone gets huge diagnostic workups that take days to complete with at least 3 consultants. Internal medicine MDs are afraid to discharge, consults leave it up to the internal meds to discharge and yet the tell the patient they can “go home”.

I know this: when everyone is standardly admitted, noone seems triaged.

And when someone is sick and it all rests on the nurse caring for non-acute other patients: the nurse gets burned out.

People are dying all over the world of treatable diseases and over here at community I had a patient tell me today she was “shopping” for a  new hospital.

And yet: I get an admit from the ED with HTN, dizziness, nausea refusing blood pressure medication and could not “tolerate” the indicated CT of the head due to her being nausea when she lays flat.  Well, wow…what can I do for you?

Helloooooooooo. Is anyone out there feeling this? My neurons are burned to a crisp.

2 Responses to “Burned out neurons”

  1. Gemma September 13, 2009 at 16:31 #

    I can understand how you are feeling right now. Though I’m still a student, I see how the ward nurses experience what you’ve been going through. Somehow made me feel that nurses are like droids… Sighs…

    Keep going Nurse Jane!! =D

    • seejanenurse September 14, 2009 at 01:07 #

      *sighs* It is a love hate relationship. I still love my job! I am just soooooooooooo tired! I will carry on! Thanx so much Gemma and hang in there in school. 🙂

Leave a Reply

