I like it here, in your heart.

8 Apr

The title of this piece is Bored_in_Maths_by_Leohhx, if you click on the image you will be taken to the original artwork, on deviantART.  She might have been bored in Math class, while her friends were playing soccer. I am kind of bored studying for PCCN certification, but I only have a short time left so I am studying everyday.

I am still sucked into cardiac, like the sucking of blood into the ventricles. I keep getting sucked into right ventricle, I am trying to get oxygenated, trying to make into the pulmonary section, but the truth is: I like it just where I am. It is all about the pump for me.

The heart is a pump. I could write love-lorn poetry just for that pumping action, and for no other reason than that, I mean that is enough, right?

Don’t tell me your heart skips a beat when you see me, I will tell you that it is nothing more than a premature atrial contraction.

If my heart speeds up, it is nothing more than an overactive sympathetic nervous system warning me of the big bad wolf, or something like that.

Of course it is more than that, but for all my intents and purposes right now, the psuedo-love-heart-poems will have to wait.

10 more questions, the answers are underlined and highlighted in red. I doubt I will type the rationales.

1. The most common cause of a NEW S3 heart sound:

a. Cardiac tamponade

b. Papillary muscle rupture

c. Acute heart failure

d. Myocardial infarction

* i am bored

2. The most common type of aortic aneurysm is

a. Ascending

b. Aortic arch

c. Descending

d. Abdominal

* i am bored

3. Peripheral vascular disease can present with intermittent claudication. The pain from femoral-popliteal disease will be in the:

a. Calf

b. Waist

c. Thigh

d. Arm

* anatomy

4. Which condition would stimulate renin production:

a. Increased supply to the renal tubules

b. Decreased blood pressure

c. Decreased sympathetic output

d. Increased sodium retention

*yeap

5. Acute rejection in cardiac transplantation is diagnosed by

a. ECG

b. Chest X ray

c. Echocardiography

d. Endomyocardial biopsy

6. Cyanosis on exertion may be a sign of

a. Atrial flutter

b. Ventricular septal defect

c. Acute coronary syndrome

d. Pulmonary embolism

* not oxygenated

7. Patient is admitted with an anterior wall myocardial infarction. What 12 lead EKG changes do you expect?

a. T wave inversion is lead I and AVL

b. ST segment elevation in V3 and V4

c. QRS duration > 0.04 in all leads

d. Tall R waves in V6

* still memorizing EKG changes till I find a way to visualize

8. What additional diagnostic test must be done on all patients with an inferior wall myocardial infarction

a. Pulmonary function tests

b. Right sided EKG

c. Endoscopy

d. Continuous ST segment monitoring.

* I am thinking of the respiratory therapists about answer letter a! LOL

9. Oxygen therapy is recommended for all patients with Acute coronary syndrome for the first 6 hours after stabilization. The goal is

a. Keep oxygen saturation at 100%

b. Balance oxygen supply and demand

c. Reduce workload on the heart

d. Prevent pulmonary edema

10. Which reperfusion therapy is recommended as the initial treatment for patients with STEMI and a history of intracerebral bleeding?

a. Thrombolytics–tPA

b. Percutaneous coronary interventions

c. Coronary artery bypass grafting

d. AICD

*well surely not tPA!

And that concludes this session, I am so lonely with this studying. It must be obvious.

2 Responses to “I like it here, in your heart.”

  1. Dennis Hoffrogge August 19, 2010 at 20:19 #

    Did Jane take her test in April I am testing in Oct
    any help Hog

    • seejanenurse August 20, 2010 at 02:23 #

      Sure, I took the test and passed! Anything you need help with, just let me know.

Leave a Reply

