Don’t lose heart

10 Apr

Take my Heart by F_AYN_T

Credit the deviantARTist by clicking on the art.

She thinks she does not want her heart right now, but believe me, she will change her mind when the heart starts screaming for oxygen. You know,  when there are ECG changes, high troponin and chest pain, we will all want our heart back.

I am moving out of the cardiovascular system, even though I would like to circulate here for a while. I won’t lose heart, I am going to pulmonary next which is my next favorite thing, and the second largest content portion on the exam.

Before I go: here are the antidotes to reverse the following:

methemoglobinemia give methylene blue

organophosphates like pesticides give atropine

acetaminophen give acetylcystine

opiates give narcan

And be careful reversing benzos with ramazicon, please.

Not related to the heart but surely on the exam. I doubt I will be studying much during the next 3 days, I am working my 3 in a row.

I will keep my heart, now give me some LOVaphed please.

6 Responses to “Don’t lose heart”

  1. nelc April 10, 2010 at 07:38 #

    What a nice site thanks 😉

  2. newruralRN April 10, 2010 at 08:13 #

    Hmmm- During nursing school I always found it easier to do things I would normally procrastinate when I was studying. “Hmmmm- to study or to go to the gym and finally start that long procrastinated exercise program? Exericse it is!”
    I am guessing that your are finding the same with blogging and studying for your PCCN? All of these fabulous new blogs!
    Keep up the good work with studying and blogging!

    • seejanenurse April 11, 2010 at 01:59 #

      Yes, thanks! It does ease the pain of studying for me. When I was in nursing school, I was blogging the whole learning experience, to help me study and remember. Thanks again for the nice compliments. ❤

  3. birdy April 10, 2010 at 16:35 #

    Check out the blue people with hereditary methemoglobinemia in Kentucky!
    http://atlasobscura.com/place/troublesome-creek

Leave a Reply

