Happy EMS week

17 May

Veins by soono

This makes me think that we are trees inside. We all do have roots. I am looking at the tree through the window.  Think about your chest. There is a bronchial tree inside of all of us.

Is the heart our sun feeding the lung tree?

In some ancient poem somewhere, a line reads like this:  Be careful what the heart desires, for all the limbs respond to its command.

This post is not about my heart fetish. It is about Happy EMS week!

I found out about EMS week at the Life Under the Lights site. I read the post: A Slap in the Face to Paramedics Everywhere?

Paramedics and the entire system that is the EMS deserve to have their separate respect delivered, acknowledged and promoted.

This post is dedicated to the EMS. I love you. Thanks for the #18s on the GI bleeding patient that you responded to passed out on the floor out there in the pre-hospital house.

Now come get me, and take me for a ride in your band-aid box!

15 Responses to “Happy EMS week”

  1. Ckemtp - Life Under the Lights May 17, 2010 at 16:28 #

    You just warmed the deep, sleep deprived and coffee stained recesses of my soul there. I appreciate your kind words and nursing-type comfort for us battle weary Medicky types. Thank you for helping us celebrate our special week. It goes a lot better than the cold coffee and stale cookies that the ERs usually put out for us… though the five that I usually go to didn’t do anything for us this year.

    Since you were so nice, I’m officially inviting you on a ride-along. This is an open invitation. Anytime you want to come drive-fast and break-things you’re more than welcome to come ride with me. If you’re close to the Northern Illinois/Southern Wisconsin areas, you could show up next shift iffn you’d like. Just don’t wear scrubs though, because it’s still a bit chilly this far North.

    If it’s too far for you to come here, I’m sure I’ve got a reader somewhere in your neck of the woods that would be happy to pick you up to come along. It will be fun, really. The fun that we have working our ‘Bambilances almost makes up for the severely low pay.

    Oh, and I mean this in all sincerity. I would go insane trying to do your job. I didn’t become a nurse because I just don’t think I can hack it. It’s not so much the medical care… just the “caged up” feeling and the volumes of paperwork you all have to do. Tis for the birds, tis.

    • seejanenurse May 20, 2010 at 13:57 #

      Thank you for this response and, sweet attention. If I warmed the depth of your sleep deprived soul, you amped-up the cardiac conduction in my chest, that resembles a trapped bird in an aviary. The relationship is complementary.

      I appreciate the invite, if I were around there I most certainly would show up, I bet it would be fun and a great learning experience. If I am ever in your town, I will let you know.

      About the nursing part of your comment: We know the medical world does not revolve around nursing, and if everyone were nurses, who would be the responders? You are loved and needed EMS.

  2. Christopher May 17, 2010 at 18:02 #

    We do ride-a-longs at our service and would love to have you! You can tour coastal North Carolina.

    • seejanenurse May 20, 2010 at 14:00 #

      Thank you! I am going to check out your blog now, I like the header: and “sometimes get to shock people”

      • Christopher May 28, 2010 at 13:25 #

        Glad to see you’re reading! You’ll have to excuse the technical posts that crop up from time to time 🙂

      • seejanenurse May 31, 2010 at 13:55 #

        I am sure, I will not mind at all.

  3. FireCap5 May 17, 2010 at 20:45 #

    Thank you for the thank you! To often we feel like the bastard stepchildren of the medical professions!

    • seejanenurse May 20, 2010 at 14:08 #

      Haha, that is funny, I work on a telemetry floor that seems everyone hates us (and thinks we are bitchy, maybe we are), and I always say we are the red-headed stepchild of the hospital.

      You are appreciated and loved! The only bastards are the people who do not realize how awesome the EMS is for the public!

  4. kalanna May 18, 2010 at 04:16 #

    oh man, i love that picture.

    today is all about paramedics in its randomness. the girl stationed at the dressing room where i stood waiting and waiting and waiting today commented that she didn’t mind when someone shop-lifted because the cute cops showed up to investigate. i responded by saying that likewise we nurses didn’t mind when someone got sick at the nursing home because then the paramedics make a visit. she had this dreamy look in her eye when she said, “yea, that’s why i’m dating one right now.”

    • seejanenurse May 20, 2010 at 14:17 #

      Yeah, what nurse, (or any person) could not love those first responders? There is something dreamy and safe about them. They are so special and it is not just the uniform. It is something about how many of them volunteer to do this before they are even getting paid, something about their ability to respond to an emergency with calmness and confidence that can make a person feel secure around them. We love the EMS.

      And what about those days in the summer….drive by to see them washing their trucks! They seem to love their job too, and that is so awesome.

      Tell your dreamy eyed nurse friend to comfort her medic man, they deserve it.

  5. murphquake May 19, 2010 at 11:49 #

    thanks, wanna drive around queens brooklyn & manhattan? with flashing lights? AND sirens? 😉 Very much enjoyed your post, almost as much as i watched the nurse struggle for a 18 in the hand of the STEMI alert I brought in friday with bilat 16guage ACs. Happy EMS Week to you too! -bill

    • seejanenurse May 20, 2010 at 14:29 #

      Heck Yeah! I bet it is busy! On a truck in NYC would be the dream come true ride along! Haha, if I were the nurse I would of kept your #16s in the AC. Damn.

      Hey, ever have problems getting through the traffic up there?

      Yes I will admit it, I like the lights and maybe the sirens, if it felt urgent. ❤

  6. Epijunky May 19, 2010 at 15:13 #

    Thank you… So much. Honestly, this was the highlight of my EMS week.

    And as CKEMTP said, you’re welcome to ride with me any time. I’m in NW Ohio.

    • seejanenurse May 20, 2010 at 14:32 #

      Thank you! I am honored to highlight your week. The EMS should have more positive promotion. If I am ever in your town, I would love to ride with you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

