Hootenanny Nurses

20 Jul

Kim over at Emergiblog would love this picture, so would Mother Jones RN.

“He brought a new song to her heart.” Nice, I wonder what cardiac rhythm we would find that nurse in, if we hooked her up to the telemetry pack. I bet she is running a high sinus tachycardia there. No treatment for sinus tachycardia, treat the cause, remember? What stat treatment does that nurse need?

I have been a lazy nurse writer. I get tired of writing the same things over and over, as the telemetry pack turns over and over.  I have also been a bit distracted, life is not all about beta-blockers, rhythms, and diuretics.

I really liked this pain medication equivalents post over here, by Paramedic six letter variable. I found it very soothing and painless.

 

I am not sure what a hootenanny is, but it sounds good.

4 Responses to “Hootenanny Nurses”

  1. Christopher July 20, 2010 at 20:50 #

    Odd, it has this post as January 27 2010!

    Also, I added a graph to help illustrate what I meant by Morphine Equivalents and dosing schedules. Not everybody sees numbers 🙂

    As for a hootenanny, there was one I attended at a resort in Minnesota during a family reunion. We were staying in cabins down by a lake, and they had the hootenanny at the main building. There was singing, dancing, a talent show. It was like something out of Dirty Dancing except I don’t think anybody had a secret abortion, nobody put Baby in a corner, and there weren’t any body suits or leg warmers. Does that help explain a hootenanny?

    • seejanenurse July 21, 2010 at 02:35 #

      I fixed the date.
      I love the graph. 🙂
      Yes, it kinda explains a hootenanny, but it is still a funny word. Do you think it sounds funny? Say it out loud.

  2. Lyall July 23, 2010 at 16:32 #

    You’re contributing enough yes to the team however sometimes you need to say no so you can do your job.

Leave a Reply

